University of Borås

Borås Academic Digital Archive (BADA) >
Forskningspublikationer / Research Publications >
Institutionen Textilhögskolan / Swedish School of Textiles (THS) >
Centrum för Textilforskning / Textile Research Centre >
Ambience08, Conference (CTF) >

Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:

Files in This Item:

File Description SizeFormat
LandinPerssonWorbinAmbience08.pdf1.73 MBAdobe PDFView/Open
Title: Electrical Burn-outs – a Technique to Design Knitted Dynamic Textile Patterns
Authors: Landin, Hanna
Persson, Anna
Worbin, Linda
Department: University of Borås. Swedish School of Textiles
Issue Date: 2008
Citation: Ambience08- International Scientific Conference, 2-3 of June 2008.
Media type: text
Publication type: conference paper, peer reviewed
Keywords: dynamic textile patterns
burn-out patterns
knitted circuits
mobile phones
Subject Category: Subject categories::Humanities::Humanities
Abstract: In this practice-based experimental design research project a tablecloth reacting on external signals is designed. The tablecloth is connected to mobile phones and reacts to incoming calls and messages with burned out patterns. Due to the mobile phone activity, changes in colour and structure appear in the table-cloth. The tablecloth is a way to explore visual and tactile changes in a textile surface. It is also a way to investigate how our relation to mobile phones and mobile phone technology is affected by the way the phones are being expressed.
Description: The project is financed by Smart Textiles, an initiative in the Vinnväxt Vinnova programme. The burn-out experiments were made at IFP Research in Borås. The knitted samples and the tablecloth were made together with Tommy Martinsson and Folke Sandvik at the knitting department at the Swedish School of Textiles, University College of Borås.
Appears in Collections:Ambience08, Conference (CTF)

SFX Query

All items in Borås Academic Digital Archive are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved.


DSpace Software Copyright © 2002-2010  The DSpace Foundation